For our community's safety, courses continue to be remote. View helpful resources and Coronavirus updates.

Skip to main content

Victoria Patterson, MFA

Antioch University Los Angeles

Victoria Patterson (fiction) is the author of the novel The Little Brother, which Vanity Fair called “a brutal, deeply empathetic, and emotionally wrenching examination of American male privilege and rape culture.” She is also the author of the novels The Peerless Four and This Vacant Paradise, a 2011 New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice. Her story collection, Drift, was a finalist for the California Book Award and the Story Prize and was selected as one of the best books of 2009 by The San Francisco Chronicle. Her newest story collection is The Secret Habit of Sorrow (Counterpoint Press, 2018). She lives in South Pasadena, California with her family.

Educational History

MFA in English, University of California, Riverside

The Secret Habit of Sorrow
The Little Brother
The Peerless Four
This Vacant Paradise

Affiliate Faculty,

MFA in Creative Writing Program


Skip to content